A mole

When learning about the Mole, at first I thought it was going to be really complicated and confusing. I thought that it would be hard to grasp. In actuality it really made more sense then I thought it would.  For me it was common sense to use the mole as a conversion factor, especially when we started stoichiometry. That doesn’t mean I always know how to solve the problem, but when I get what to do I know how to do it. Today I had an aha moment when I was doing my glog. I realized how there could be a mole of molecules and a mole of atoms. It should have been obvious but it took me this long to realize a mole of molecules accounts for a mole of each atom. Now I know that Avogadro’s number (6.02×10^23) is a mole. And I know that it is used primarily for calculations to bring the molecular world into the visual world. Last but not least, having to do moles made me look more closely at the keyboard and now I know where the exponent button is (it is Shift 6).

 What do you call the number of molecules in a mole of guacamole? Avocado's Number  | Chemistry Cat

http://chemistry.about.com/cs/generalchemistry/f/blmole.htm

http://memegenerator.net/instance/42515485

Leave a Reply

